Books, Glorious Books

I love reading books, but I also love owning them and re-reading them, as I’ve said before. I’m thankful, this holiday season, for those that were wrapped up and placed gently under the tree. They’ll keep me company all year. I’m especially excited about the three hardcovers–what a luxury! There’s so much potential in these finely bound pages. Anything can happen, much like taking the ball band off a skein of yarn and getting started on a project. So here are my new bookshelf friends:

The Widower’s Tale by Julia Glass – My husband picked this off my short list, which included Susanna Clarke’s The Ladies of Grace Adieu and Great House by Nicole Krauss. It was supposed to include The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender, but that was an oversight that I’ll have to rectify by going to the bookstore myself. In fact any of these books would be gems to own. Hmm… I might need to go shopping this week.

In any case, my husband introduced me to Glass’ work by buying me Three Junes one year. Then I stumbled on The Whole World Over, and it quickly became one of my most recommended books. My hubby bought I See You Everywhere in hardcover, again as one of my Christmas gifts, and now I have her latest.

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan – This selection was recommended by an independent bookseller when my husband went shopping, and I’m excited to read it, especially now that it’s been listed on some prestigious best of 2010 lists.

The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger – This graphic novel makes me so happy, and I haven’t even read it yet. My friend Tamara decided I needed a copy this Christmas. It’s slim, and printed beautifully, and best of all, I taped her note inside the dust jacket, so I’ll always remember how this cool book came into my life. Tamara wrote: “I loved this and thought you had to have it!”

As far as paperbacks, my husband picked out Watermark by Joseph Brodsky, a prose poem about Venice, written in 48 concise chapters. I think this book will take me on a beautiful journey of language, insight and culture.

And, finally, Santa brought me a book for my novel research, The Canary: Its History, Varieties, Management, and Breeding by Richard Avis. Santa probably chose this title because the author’s name so nicely echoed his topic. It’s a reproduction of a work that is now in the public domain, and it’s quite short, but I think it’ll suit my purposes.

Now I have to figure out which one to read first!

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Research and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

