Blooming Tulips Brighten a Very Gray Spring

I love this color. In fact, I have been collecting yarns of a similar hue.

We’ve had a mostly soggy April here in Oregon. What better way to lift one’s spirits, and encourage creativity, than heading to the Wooden Shoe Tulip Farm in Woodburn? Here are a few photos for those of you craving a splash of color during this wet season.

I grew up attending steam engine events in Kinzers, Pennsylvania, so it was fun to watch this demonstration with my daughter and our friends.

Ahh, color. If you look closely, you can see squishy mud between the rows of vibrant tulips.

I've attended the festival for three years, and the flowers have been in different fields each time. Take a look at the top of my blog--that was where the windmill was stationed last year.

True to the farm's name, we watched this craftsman hollow out the insides of wooden shoes.

Mmm. Onions.

The festival has been extended until May 8, so if you live in Oregon, go check it out! The Wooden Shoe Tulip farm is open daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Remember to bring directions if you’ve never attended.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blooming Tulips Brighten a Very Gray Spring

  1. seachanges says:

    Reminds me of Holland 🙂 (where I was born). I faithfully plant tulips in my garden, every year and love them as they appear in spring. In fact, this early spring here in England has provided a lovely view from all the windows onto tulips here there and everywhere. Love your photo’s.

    • Oh thank you so much for commenting! I have always loved taking flower photos, and it’s just a joy to be able to attend our local tulip festival. I may try to sneak back between now and the closing day so I can take some more pictures.

Leave a Reply

