Countdown to the Release of the Flipback

Promotional photo courtesy of Jongbloed BV.

On June 30, British publishing house Hodder & Stoughton will release the first 12 titles in the flipback book format,  and we’ll go from buzz to actual reports on how this product is received by the book-buying public.

That’s six more days, folks. I, for one, can’t wait.

It seems Hodder & Stoughton has now launched a website for flipbacks, where interested customers can subscribe to a newsletter, watch a minute-plus promotional video and link to the main publishing house site to purchase the books. And check out flipback books on Twitter or on Facebook for ongoing conversations about the format.

Despite all my research on flipbacks, I haven’t been able to get my hands on a promotional copy, so I plan to purchase one next Thursday. I’ve picked it out, too: David Mitchell’s “Cloud Atlas.” That novel has been on my reading list since one of my most trusted reader-friends raved about it (thanks for the recommendation, Nikki!).

Here are the other titles being launched next week: “The Other Hand” by Chris Cleave; “The Adventure of English” by Melvyn Bragg; “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy” by John Le Carré; “Shades of Grey” by Jasper Fforde; “A Million Little Pieces” by James Frey; “Misery” by Stephen King; “Liar’s Poker” by Michael Lewis; “One Day” by David Nicholls; “My Sister’s Keeper” by Jodi Picoult; “Piece of My Heart” by Peter Robinson; and “Cold Mountain” by Charles Frazier.

If you’re new to this flipback phenomenon (or if you’re visiting my blog for the first time), over the past two months, I’ve been doing research on these innovative pocket-sized books, the brainchild of Netherlands-based Bible publisher Jongbloed BV. This effort has been a reaction to all the speculation going on about flipbacks–known as dwarsliggers in Holland–in the hopes of finding and disseminating real information. And, with help from Jongbloed’s Arthur van Keulen, international marketing manager, I’ve been able to do just that.

The one flipback-style book I've seen is the KJV Transetto Bible, which despite being 1,800 pages, really does fit in the pocket of my jeans.

For more facts and figures, directly from Jongbloed’s Arthur van Keulen, international marketing manager, check out my first post in the series, All You Want to Know About the Flipback. Then pop over to my exclusive interview with Arthur van Keulen. Finally, to get the scoop on the one flipback-style book I’ve seen personally, check out this post on the King James Version Transetto Bible published this month by Cambridge University Press.

For those of you who live in England, or who have British connections, I’d love to hear any reactions about the launch. You can leave a comment here or send me a note at laurastanfill at hotmail dot com.

And a question for everyone: Do you carry books around with you on a regular basis? If not, would you bring one along if the book fit in your pocket or purse?

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Books, Flipback, Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Countdown to the Release of the Flipback

  1. Bob Robson says:

    A flipback book. Wow, hadn’t heard of them ’til I saw your post. I can’t wait to try one out!

    • Thanks for commenting, Bob! I’m excited to order one on Thursday. And, according to the international marketing manager at Jongbloed in the interview I did with him a few weeks back, there are talks going with American publishers to bring the format over here.

  2. Pingback: All You Want to Know About the Flipback Book (Part 1) | Laura Stanfill

  3. Just when you think there’s nothing else that could possibly be new in paper!!! COOL!!! I’d buy one (if the print isn’t too small).

    • I think the print is normal sized, but I’ll let you know as soon as I get my hands on one! The KJV Transetto Bible, which is the only flipback I’ve seen personally, has small type, but that’s due to it being a Bible, I’m pretty sure.

  4. Lynn Wyvill says:

    This is cool! I hadn’t heard of this. Would love to see one. To answer your question, yes, I do carry around books on a regular basis, and yes, I would especially like one that fit in my purse. That’s the criteria for selecting notebooks for journaling, too. Thanks for the information!

    • Thanks for visiting, Lynn. I may–gasp!–have a flipback to give away here on my blog in the next few weeks, so be sure to check back! I’ll ask people to comment on a particular subject or question, then I’ll pick a random winner.

  5. Pingback: Have you heard of the dwarsligger aka Flipback, the not so new concept that’s taken Europe by storm? « Far & Beyond: A Saga of Publishing

Leave a Reply

