Google+, Flipbacks and Socks

The next few weeks are going to be busy. I have a lot of exciting content ready, starting with a new Seven Questions interview tomorrow morning. So here’s a quick three-in-one post to share a few things before too much time elapses.

First of all, anyone else on Google+ yet? We had such a great discussion about social media a few weeks ago, and that has gotten me thinking about finally joining Facebook or Twitter. I haven’t, yet. But when I received an invitation to Google+ and heard the buzz that it’s a great place for writers, I signed up. I don’t really know what I’m doing yet, but feel free to add me to a circle if you’re on there.

You can find me here: gplus.to/laurastanfill. Having a name as part of the link, instead of using a string of numbers to identify yourself, can be found here. And writers on Google+ are invited to submit their information to GalleyCat to be added to a networking list. Both of those tips are courtesy of the media-savvy awesome author Sarah Cypher.

Second, my flipback book arrived Friday from Hodder & Stoughton! I am now the proud owner of the most exquisite and unusual edition of David Mitchell’s “Cloud Atlas.” I’ve begun a review, which I’ll post later this week or sometime next week. It’s too beautiful to stick in my pocket, but it’s definitely small enough to fit in there.

And finally, with all the talk of social media, there’s still nothing that replaces actual networking. I’m talking about next weekend’s Sock Summit here in Portland, Oregon. Knitters from all over gather to take classes, meet famous knitters, attend lectures, participate in contests, buy amazing yarn from the marketplace and, of course, admire each other’s handmade accessories.

If you attend, be sure to stop by the Blissful Knits & Dyeworks booth to ooh and ahh over my friend Raya’s yarn. Her colorways are one-of-a-kind, and she’s known for using really soft but sturdy base yarns that are ideal for baby and kids knits as well as anything you want to still look lovely after a lot of wear.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community, Flipback, Knitting, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Google+, Flipbacks and Socks

  1. I’ve been wondering about Google+. I’m on Twitter and Facebook, but I was wondering if my time would be well spent on there as well.
    Congrats on getting your flipback! I can’t believe the books are small enough to fit in your pocket. That still baffles me!

  2. Leila says:

    Thanks Laura! My IT team at work and I all love what Google+ can do. Thanks for the great post.

  3. I love the idea of flipbooks, but I don’t think I’d really enjoy them myself :/.

    I added you to my “Friends” circle on Google+! Out of curiosity, why is it supposed to be good for writers?

    • Excellent! I’ll add you too. I can’t remember where I read the “good for writers” bit, but I heard something along the lines that lots of writers were forming communities there, and/or there’s a lot of potential to form writerly communities. GalleyCat’s list is a good example of using the network to connect different writers.

  4. I added you to my circle, Laura!

  5. Hey, Laura, nice informative post. I didn’t know how to get our name on Google+ so I’m thrilled to learn that. I’m adding you to my writers circle.

  6. Lisa says:

    Very helpful, Laura! Thank you. I recently closed my Twitter acct. because it “just wasn’t doing it for me,” but I’m going to give Google+ a try.

    • Oh good, Lisa! So interesting that you stepped aside from Twitter. I’ll be curious to hear what you think of Google+. And I’m glad we’re connected there too! Don’t forget to register on GalleyCat to get on other writers’ radar.

  7. Pingback: It’s not you. It’s me. Really. I swear it is. | Emerald Barnes' Dreaming Awake Blog

Leave a Reply

