Sock Summit 2011–Oh, the Colors!

Even non-knitting writers need a dash of color as inspiration once in a while, so I can’t help sharing a few photos from this weekend’s Sock Summit in Portland, Oregon.

If you’re a writer and keep reading past all the fiber mania, you’ll find an update on a special event coming up on my blog next week!

This is my friend Raya's booth at Sock Summit after a lot of her awesome yarn had been whisked off to good homes. I had a blast volunteering there and watching knitters fall in love with her colorways.

Here's a closeup of some of Raya's blues, periwinkles and lavenders. Sumptuous, aren't they?

I went to Sock Summit hoping to fall in love with a skein, and this colorway, Carousel Your Soul by indigodragonfly, made me swoon.

These six skeins from Sophie's Toes are so lovely and interesting. The colors play off each other beautifully, and I'll probably turn them (or some of them) into a shawl. The combined yardage is 525.

For those of you who couldn’t attend Sock Summit, here are the links to the shops I mentioned, although it’s worth noting I fell in love with lots of vendors’ yarn and wish I could have brought it all home.

I came home from the Sock Summit marketplace Saturday around 3 p.m., took photos of my yarn and shared the six-skein shot with knitters on Google+. A few minutes later,Β Yana Weinstein picked it up as her knitting photo of the day. Talk about community. A few hours later, I had suggestions of which skeins to pair with each other and great comments and thoughts from fellow knitters. And in case you’re interested, Yana recently posted a great piece about creating a Google+ directory for your hobby, so take a look if you’re interested in setting up your own community over in that space.

So, now for the writing news. Arthur van Keulen, international marketing manager for Jongbloed BV, the originator of the dwarsligger pocket-sized book, sent me some flipbacks in English, and they just arrived yesterday afternoon! I’ll be giving one away on Wednesday, so check back here for details. Don’t miss your chance to get your hands on a flipback!

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community, Flipback, Knitting, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sock Summit 2011–Oh, the Colors!

  1. You know I’m excited! Fingers crossed for a flipback! πŸ˜‰

    Glad you had fun at the sock summit, and it’s awesome how much of a community you’re gathering on Google+! πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve just started getting into knitting. I kept doing it on and off in high school, but I finally finished the first thing ever that has a pattern (just a simple one) and am eager to get my hands on some circular knitting needles and improve!
    I enjoyed the photos very much :).

    • Knitting is so fun, especially when you meet other friends to do it with! Have you looked at Ravelry yet? It’s a great trove of advice and patterns and a wonderful online community.

  3. Yana says:

    I just came across this – thanks so much for the mention! I’m glad you’re enjoying our knitting community over on Google+.

  4. I do love a pretty skein of yarn. What fun! I hope you’ll share some pictures of your finished projects later. And, woo! on the Flipback giveaway πŸ™‚

    • Are you a knitter too, Christi, and if so are you on Ravelry? I post all my projects there. You’ll probably see the six-skein project here on my blog at some point. I’m planning to pick a pattern and needles today so I can start that soon. I have a hard time visualizing how all the colors are going to come together, and I may have to experiment a bit to get the results I want!

      • Laura, Sometimes I knit dishrags…in creative geometric shapes. Not on purpose, mind you, which summarizes the result of most of my knitting projects. I have a basket full of pretty yarn and some great patterns, though!…. πŸ™‚

        • Creative geometric shapes–I love that, Christi! I have a few off-kilter scarves and hats in my past, although I’ve learned a lot from my knitting circle and am pretty fearless these days. Mmm… a basket full of pretty yarn. Sounds lovely!

Leave a Reply

