Celebrating 100 Posts With Another Giveaway

Technically, Monday’s interview with Stephen O’Donnell was post #100, but since I schedule my Seven Questions series in advance, #101 will have to do.

I’m excited about reaching my first blogging milestone, especially considering the fact that I’ve written 3/4 of a novel during the same 10 months. It’s been great to have a sense of community develop in this space, as that was one of my main goals when I launched this blog.

Miller-Kelton's latest album, "Tip-Top," was released on Tax Day.

What better way to celebrate than giving something away?

Today I’m offering a free copy of “Tip-Top,” a CD released earlier this year by Miller-Kelton, an Americana band based in Columbus, Ohio. To learn more about the album, read this Seven Questions interview with Miller-Kelton’s songwriter, Edward Reilley Forman.

For a chance to win “Top-Top,” all you have to do is answer any one of these questions in the comments: How has social media affected you as a writer? Do you find inspiration in others’ blogs? Do you crystallize your own thoughts while writing blog posts or tweets or Facebook updates? Does reading online content distract you, and if so, do you have any self-imposed rules to keep yourself focused?

Feel free to leave more than one comment, but I’ll only count the first as an entry in the contest. I’ll use Random.org to choose a winner the morning of Monday, August 29, West Coast time. The winner will be announced in the comments.

And here’s another reason to check back here Monday. I’ll be running the next Seven Questions interview, featuring WIRE TO WIRE author Scott Sparling. His book has earned rave reviews since being published in June by Tin House Books, and he talks about the “dream come true” quality all the attention has had. So stay tuned!

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Contest, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Celebrating 100 Posts With Another Giveaway

  1. Congrats on the number of posts you’ve reached! Very impressive :).

  2. Jo Eberhardt says:

    Congrats on the milestone! I’ll be passing it myself next week, and it’s an awesome feeling. I took up blogging because… well, everyone else was doing it. But it’s quickly become the cornerstone of my Online Community. Especially since I rarely use FB and IU’m not on Twitter (yet). I find inspiration on just about every blog I read, whether it’s about writing, parenting, amusing hobbies, etc etc. I just love reading other people’s thoughts. Maybe I’m a voyeur. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jo! It’s great to hear your thoughts on blogging and reading other blogs. Blogging is definitely the cornerstone of my online presence, too, as I’m not on FB or Twitter and have only recently joined Google+.

  3. How has social media affected you as a writer?

    It’s interesting to connect with other writers, and I learn a lot, but I don’t think it affects what I’m doing. I’m writing pretty much the way I wrote before I ever got online (I’m better at it, I think, but still on the same course.)

    Do you find inspiration in others’ blogs?

    Very often, especially how different writers are in their methods, and their goals. That makes me feel like less of an oddball, since everybody else seems to be different from each other, too. So, we’re all oddballs. 🙂

    Do you crystallize your own thoughts while writing blog posts or tweets or Facebook updates?

    Writing blog posts, definitely.

    Cogratulations on your 100 posts, BTW. 100 posts is only worth celebrating if the posts are interesting, and yours always are. (I just celebrated an anniversary of my own, by coincidence.)

    Does reading online content distract you, and if so, do you have any self-imposed rules to keep yourself focused?

    I try to keep a balance, but the main thing is that when I write (or edit) I use pen and paper, so it’s automatically separate from my online activities.

    • Love your observation that we all do everything differently, hence we’re all oddballs. I’ll have to check out your blog and see what anniversary you just had! I was offline most of last week due to a sick kiddo.

  4. ikkinlala says:

    Congratulations on the milestone!

    I tend to find blogs inspiring but other forms of social media distracting, perhaps because blogs invite a bit more thought than Twitter posts.

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Ikkinlala. Good point about blogs. Often posts are really more like essays than the short updates and bits of detail people post on other social media platforms.

  5. Congratulations, ikkinlala! Please email me at laurastanfill at hotmail dot com with your address so I can send you the CD. If I don’t hear back from you by next Monday, I’ll draw another winner. (That happened last giveaway and when winner #1 found me, I had already chosen a winner #2, so I gave away two prizes by accident!)

  6. Alas, I haven’t heard back from ikkinlala, and I can’t find an email address to get in touch. So I’m drawing a new winner of the Miller-Kelton CD. It’s Anthony Lee Collins! Pop me a note at laurastanfill at hotmail dot com with your address, and I’ll ship that out to you, Anthony!

  7. Cool. Just sent the email. (This is very exciting; I never win things.)

Leave a Reply

