Happy Writing Links

Google+ has turned me into a squirrel. I forage there daily, and when I find an interesting post, even if I don’t have time to read it, I click on the little eyeglasses icon in my Safari bar to save it for later.

Sorry–no idea what the little eyeglasses function is called. I’m sure there’s a very useful technical term. If you know it, please comment and enlighten me! It showed up a while ago, and I’ve just now begun to use it as a way to bookmark interesting articles.

Here are a few of my recent finds–and don’t be surprised if this turns into a somewhat regular feature. (It is, if you’re counting, my second attempt at a series of useful links.)

  • Lia Keyes tackles “The Plot-Expanding Power of Consequences.” She explains why it’s not enough to create an inciting incident in fiction. The character’s reaction to that incident is what matters, and Lia offers suggestions about how to analyze characters’ choices and their consequences.
  • Eric Olsen guest posted “How Do You Start Writing?” at the Creative Penn. Olsen is the co-author of “We Wanted to Be Writers.” It’s a great reminder of how to take an idea and begin turning it into a story, and he quotes John Irving and Sandra Cisneros.
  • Diana Abu-Jaber’s essay, “Netting the Clouds for My Identity,” offers thoughts on cultural identity, and how to write about it, using her own upbringing as an example. Especially if you’re unfamiliar with her work, go read this piece about writing and revising a memoir. You’ll want to run out and buy her books. Her latest novel is “Birds of Paradise.”
  • Ever wonder about Maurice Sendak? This Guardian piece is a no-holds-barred look at the beloved children’s author. It’s rare to read a feature that stares so unblinkingly at its subject.
  • And now for something many of us can relate to: “My Psychological Torture of Finishing a WiP” by C.E. Schwilk.
  • Jan Fischer-Wade offers an interesting way to promote each other over at Curiosity Quills. She invites authors to comment and offer reciprocal trades as a way of promoting each other. “Let’s help each other out!” she writes.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Fiction, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Writing Links

  1. Liz says:

    ok, laura….NOW you’re going to have to educate me on google +

    SO much to learn

    http://pocketshrink.blogspot.com

  2. Emma Burcart says:

    Thanks for the links! I love the variety in the list and I can’t wait to read Diana Abu-Jaber’s essay. I am hurrying to finish the book I’m currently reading so that I can read Birds of Paradise. I heard her speak at Wordstock and loved it.

Leave a Reply

