Writing Links

I have been collecting a lot of great links lately and haven’t run any in a while. So here are a few, and expect more soon.

  • The newly released winter issue of Etude: The Journal of Literary Nonfiction contains a  wonderful essay by author Lauren Kessler, “Ch-ch-ch-changes: The New (Media) World Order.” The online magazine is published by the University of Oregon’s School of Journalism and Communication.
  • I recently discovered inkPageant, which calls itself “A parade of blog posts for writers.” It offers a compilation of writing posts in an elegant, uncluttered format, and there’s no end of useful advice and thoughtful essays. If anyone has registered with inkPageant, I’d be curious to hear more about that experience. It seems like a really exciting community.
  • PLoSBlogs ran this fascinating article, Practical Tips on Writing a Book from 22 Brilliant Authors, this past June. The author, Steve Silberman, asked writers in his social networks to respond to this question: “What do you wish you’d known about the process of writing a book that you didn’t know before you did it?”
  • Donna Newton gives a very useful look at log lines, screenwriting style.
  • I love Tania Dakka’s poetic musings in “The Key to Your Productivity.”
  • Alicia McKenna Johnson recently offered a fabulous guest post over at Myndi Shafer’s blog. “Don’t Bleach and Iron Your Work” is about how to add diversity to your fiction instead of shying away from it.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Writing Links

  1. Thanks for the pingback, Laura! Love this list!

  2. Thanks Laura, I will have to check out these great resources. No matter how long we travel in cyber space, there are always new and wonderful places to visit 🙂

  3. Tania Dakka says:

    Thanks for the pingback! Glad you enjoyed it!

  4. Liz says:

    oh, such great stuff…thanks, laura.

    http://pocketshrink.blogspot.com

  5. I jumped right to the last one, because I realized just from the title that this was something I needed to think about more consciously with my new project(s). I approach it very differently, but but it is somethung every writer has to think about. I was just reading somewhere recently about how hard it is to have LBGT or dark-skinned characters in YA fiction (if you want to get comventionally published, of course).

    • I was excited to discover that post, because I’ve been thinking about this subject more consciously with my New York scenes in particular. Writing about race from a historical perspective is terrifying (to me), because of all the things I could get wrong, but Henri’s neighborhood when he moves to America is definitely a melting pot and I want to increase that in my rewrites.

  6. Pingback: Practical Tips on Writing a Book from 23 Brilliant Authors | independentbookpublisher

Leave a Reply

