Preschooler Love: Sweet Little Snippets of Paper

My 4-year-old made these to share with her preschool classmates.

For me, Valentine’s Day has always been about more than romance. I use it as an excuse to express love and appreciation for friends and family.

For one thing, it’s my mother’s birthday, so growing up we celebrated her with cake and red and pink wishes for the upcoming year. And as I’ve mentioned before, I love sending cards and goodies. Valentine’s Day is a great reason to buy some high-quality chocolate and stick it in padded envelopes to share a little sweetness with my dearest friends.

This year is the first in a while where I didn’t send any cards or chocolate out, because February sneaked up on me, so this photo will have to do. My 4-year-old daughter made these tiny hearts to give to her preschool classmates today. They’ll also be celebrating with pizza and cookie decorating. What fun!

Little kids aren’t shy about talking about love or offering hugs and kisses. It seems my daughter talks about love every day. She bubbles and gushes about her friends and won’t let a playdate end without a hug or a quick smooch. She knows who she loves and isn’t afraid to show her feelings. She has recently taken to listing all her family members, one by one, and saying she loves us.

“And I love myself,” she usually adds at the end.

This Valentine’s Day, after I kiss my husband and thank him for being so great, I’ll pick up the phone and call some of my East Coast friends to say I miss them and love them. That’s what cards mean to me anyway–taking the time to brighten someone’s day. And if I have time, inspired by my daughter’s confidence, I’ll do something fun for myself, like go get coffee or carve out an extra 15 minutes for writing.

Do you plan to celebrate Valentine’s Day tomorrow? If so, how? If not, why not?

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-At

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preschooler Love: Sweet Little Snippets of Paper

  1. I live how your daughter says she loves herself. Childlike confidence is a lovely thing!

    • Sorry Laura, but I have to tag onto Myndi’s comment. WP is still not allowing me leave comments.

      How adorable those little love notes are and what a great lesson to learn about love. “Learning to love yourself, if the greatest love of all.” Thinking of Whitney Houston and one of her greatest his … “I believe that children are the future. Treat them well and let them lead the way.”

      Give another gift of love to yourself and listen and really hear those lyrics. Happy Valentine to you and yours 🙂

  2. Debra Kristi says:

    I love how kids are so open with their feelings. Your kids are precious! Those hand-made Valentines are adorable! This was a precious post Laura.

    • Thanks, Debra! I was especially tickled that my 15-year-old nephew helped my daughter make her valentines. She adores him, and he was content to sit on the floor and draw the heart shapes for her to cut out.

Leave a Reply

