Writing Challenge #12: Happy Leap Day!

It has been a while since I’ve run a writing challenge, likely because I’ve been so immersed in my sprawling rewrite. I so thoroughly enjoyed the flash fiction exercise I participated in recently that I decided to offer a prompt as today’s challenge.

My mother-in-law showed me a Sweet 16 birthday party invitation she received in the mail. I figured it was for a friend’s granddaughter. But it was for one of her friends who has a Leap Day birthday. She’s 64 today.

Here’s the challenge. Imagine a character with a Leap Day birthday. What happens on the years she or he has no birthday? Are there big parties every four years? What was it like growing up without an annual birthday? How is this character different because of being born on February 29?

If you’d rather use this exercise to write something to incorporate into your work-in-progress, then do a freewrite about one of your character’s birthdays. When is it? Think about the season and astrological sign and how those factors influence your character’s behavior. How does your character feel about birthdays? Does he or she celebrate? If so, how? If not, why?

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-BS

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing, Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Challenge #12: Happy Leap Day!

  1. Every year for three years I watched my brothers and sisters celebrate. Then like magic on the fourth year I got to celebrate. I can’t imagine how others can handle the stress of getting older one year at a time. Mine is close to the dog’s age, younger than everyone else I grew up with. I counted each time to make sure. Yep, I was another birthday older … the years? Ah, who needs a regular birthday when you can stay young forever? The best part … I proposed to my dearly beloved on the Leap Year. A birthday cake and an engagement ring … he bought the cake, I bought the ring 🙂

  2. Love this, Florence! Especially the wonderful thoughts about aging. Now is it fiction or are you truly a Leap Day baby?

Leave a Reply

