Writing Challenge #13: Cut It Out

When a writer is lacking inspiration, looking at pictures can be key to adding color and texture to a fictional world.

Many writers use images to help them get to know their characters or their setting. Lisa Rivero recently posted about using this technique for historical fiction.

Here’s today’s challenge. Find a magazine. Cut out five images. They can be objects, people, furniture, food–whatever attracts your eye. Arrange the cutouts in a line. Then write a 1,000-word flash fiction piece using the images in the order that you’ve chosen. Or, if you’re working on a novel, use the five images in a scene.

Have an idea for a Writing Challenge? E-mail me at laurastanfill at hotmail dot com, and if I use your idea, I’ll give you credit and link to your website or blog. 

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-Bw

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Fiction, Writing, Writing Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing Challenge #13: Cut It Out

  1. tAmArA [_] says:

    This sounds like fun! I may adapt it to add some color to a chapter I’m working on. Oh, but all I have here are home-decorating magazines … I suppose beautifully-arranged groupings of objets d’art are never unwanted. 🙂

  2. I have one for you, Laura. Listen to your favorit song and when it ends, sit down and write what it called out to you. Last week it was Dreamboat Annie by Heart. Enjoy 🙂

  3. Oooh that’s a good one. 🙂 I tend to get people just to fire a handful of words at me, but I like the idea of pictures; there’s a lot to play with in a single picutre. 🙂

Leave a Reply

