Happy Mother’s Day!

I read that Mother’s Day isn’t Mothers’ Day because we’re supposed to acknowledge our own families, not mothers in general. It’s amazing how grammar works, and how an extra letter can change the scope and meaning of a word.

My mom has told me about some of the thankless tasks her parents helped her with when she was a young mom. My grandfather said she’d pay their favors back someday by helping me and her grandchildren. And she has. I don’t know what I’d do without her!

Thanks, Mom, for all that you do, and I’ll be thinking about you and Grandpa years from now when my kids call me for help with their families.

I hope all the mamas and mamas-to-be out there enjoy today!

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-GV

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. This is why I’m fascinated by apostrophes…and by motherhood! I think it’s impossible to think only of myself on Mother’s Day– instead, I feel united with all moms.

    • I’m glad you said that, Sarah! That sense of mom-unity was strong while I was traveling home on an airplane today. There were lots of “Happy Mother’s Day” comments all around!

  2. Brigitte King says:

    That was so touching that it brought tears and reminded me of the all the fond memories we shared.

  3. Wendy Priestner says:

    Loved your Mother’s Day note…it was so wonderful to see you as a loving mother,& to have Hadley & Trixie play & interact with Annika & Sebastian, & to all be together again. We love you always!

Leave a Reply

