Photo Essay: Espresso Book Machine at Powell’s

Yesterday I drove to Powell’s Books, headed upstairs to the purple room and watched the Espresso Book Machine print the proof copy of my collection, Brave on the Page: Oregon Writers on Craft and the Creative Life.

It’s (almost) a real book! Whoo hoo! Copy editor Annie Hille and cover designer Gigi Little were on hand to participate in the festivities, and to ooh and ahh over the finished product. A few interested spectators came by to ask questions and see how the Espresso Book Machine works. Here are some photos of the proof being printed.

Polly Duggan, a staff member at the Powell’s Espresso Book Machine, loads lovely cream paper for my book.

Polly picks out a matte sheet that will become the cover. (We chose matte instead of glossy, and I love the results.)

Here’s a sneak peek at part of the back cover. I’ll reveal the cover online on October 8, our launch date!

Gigi Little and I stand in front of the Espresso Book Machine as the first copy of Brave on the Page gets printed. How cool is that?

 

You can see the pages standing up. I think that’s the moment when the cover glue was getting applied, although I was so excited I didn’t take notes.

You can just glimpse some of the front cover as the now-finished book travels through the machine on its way to the chute where Polly retrieved it for us. I love the reflections of other books on the surface of the machine’s case. Brave on the Page will soon join all those other titles out in the world.

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1bhaB-Oy

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Books, Espresso Book Machine, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Photo Essay: Espresso Book Machine at Powell’s

  1. beatbox32 says:

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Fabulous! October 8th, you say? 🙂

  3. Duncan Ellis says:

    It doesn’t get much more palpably exciting than that!

    I have the book launch on the 09-Oct on my calendar at work so hopefully no one will schedule a meeting on top of it.

  4. onmounthood says:

    Pretty exciting, Laura!

    • Yes indeed, Jon! I’m so glad you’re a part of this project. Thanks for working with my deadline and getting the interview together. It’ll be fun to post your piece here on my blog, too, in a few weeks.

  5. Good grief, Charlie Brown … it’s a coffee machine that makes a book … a book machine that makes coffee. No matter … the technology is incredible. Thanks for sharing? Love that toothy grin 🙂

    • Mmm…. coffee! The idea is that a book can be printed as fast as an espresso drink can be prepared. But I would also be very excited if the machine pulled shots and steamed milk…

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    I’m really looking forward to seeing how this endeavor turns out. Oh, the changing world we live in! 🙂

    • It’s so fun to be working with new technology and pushing the way others look at it by doing something different–i.e. publishing other writers and setting up a press, instead of just self-publishing. We’ll see how the adventure goes!

      (By the way, I swear I responded to all these comments last week but somehow my responses are missing… maybe I dreamed it?)

  7. It’s a little bit of miracle, isn’t it? Congratulations, Laura! What a triumph.

  8. 4amWriter says:

    I’m so excited for you! I would have been a wreck the whole time watching it. 🙂

    • I have to admit the three of us spent a lot of time giggling and taking photos. Have I seen the printing process all the way through? Sort of… but I was distracted by how momentous the moment felt!

  9. I’m definitely looking forward to going into a store here and watching a copy being made for me. 🙂

    • Oh goody! If you take a photo of yourself at the Espresso Machine, or your hands holding the book, or just the book at the Espresso machine or your local bookstore, you’ll be guaranteed a prize! Details to follow on launch day.

  10. Pingback: The Buzz Begins | Forest Avenue Press

Leave a Reply

