Visiting The Bookshelf Muse, My Radio Interview with Sheila Hamilton and More Good News!

I’m so excited to be a guest over at The Bookshelf Muse today, sharing details about my experience using the Espresso Book Machine as the Forest Avenue Press printer and primary distributor.

In Why I Love the Espresso Book Machine, I discuss why I decided to use the technology, how this kind of publishing supports the local economy, and how having access to real people (instead of an online help desk) is well worth the extra cost. And did I mention the instant gratification of buying a book and having it get printed before your eyes in about four minutes?

Angela Ackerman, who blogs at The Bookshelf Muse with Becca Puglisi, was one of my Seven Questions interviews in 2012 when the duo released The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression. The Bookshelf Muse offers such great content for writers, and it’s definitely an honor to share my thoughts over there.  Thanks so much for inviting me to visit today, Angela and Becca!

I pose with Sheila Hamilton in the recording booth at Alpha Broadcasting after taping (can I still say taping?) my radio segment.

In other news, my radio interview about Brave on the Page: Oregon Writers on Craft and the Creative Life ran on the early morning show Sunday on 101.9 KINK.fm and 101 KXL. I posted the segment here, if you want to go hear what I sound like when I’ve had a lot of coffee and not very much sleep!

Sheila’s a powerful interviewer, and as a former newspaper reporter, I’ve realized how much more comfortable I am with working in print. I love to revise each sentence, and in radio, once you say it, it’s out there. You can’t change it. Nevertheless, once the initial shock of being recorded wore off, I said some thoughtful things about the project and was able to give a nice summation of next weekend’s reading.

Speaking of which, if you’re in the Portland, Oregon, metro area, we’re hosting our next Brave on the Page event at 2 p.m. this coming Saturday, Nov. 17, at Backspace, 115 NW 5th, Portland. It’ll feature Scott Sparling, Jackie Shannon Hollis, Kate Gray, Liz Scott and Stevan Allred reading from their work, so please come by and listen. Admission is free, and there are all kinds of delicious foods and beverages available at Backspace. Hopefully we’ll see some coverage–or at least calendar details–in some local papers this week.

Following the Backspace reading, I’ll be at the Espresso Book Machine from 5 to 7 p.m. in the purple room upstairs at Powell’s City of Books, 1005 W. Burnside. I’ll be joining Karen Guthrie, another author who used the machine, as part of a publishing fair.  Authors, potential publishers, readers and everyone who’s curious can come see the Espresso Book Machine in action and ask questions about the publishing process.  Karen and I will be happy to tell you about our experiences publishing this way, why we chose this method and how it has worked in terms of having our books available around the world.

“My book, WHERE THE INVISIBLE VANISH, tells the true story of a magical building in Portland, The Blanchet House of Hospitality,” Karen told me. “It is a work of creative nonfiction about home and homelessness. It shows what happens when heartbreak meets hospitality and rescued food feeds the hungry on the corner of NW 4th and Glisan. My own story threads softly through the pages.”

I have one more exciting link to share. Michael Gettel-Gilmartin just posted a video taken during our Nov. 3 Brave on the Page reading, where he’s reciting the first chapter of Shakespeare on the Lam, his very entertaining middle grade novel. Check out his post, I Love My Writing Community, to get a feel for the event and Michael’s powerful voice. Listening to it made me feel like I was back there, in that room, surrounded by so many writers and readers.

Finally, the last few weeks around here have been full of photos, news and events surrounding the launch of Brave on the Page. Thanks for reading and responding to my news and updates. It has been an incredibly exciting four weeks since the book launched. Soon I’ll be bringing back some of our features–including new Seven Questions interviews with Jon Bell and Chris Bournéa, some more Writing Challenges, plus posts on “bad behavior” and the 19th century undergarment lecture I attended this weekend. So stay tuned!

And, as always, if you crave more news about Brave on the Page, check out the Forest Avenue Press blog. One of my favorite things to do over there is to promote and highlight some of the 42 authors, sharing their blog posts, photos and accomplishments. A favorite recent post features copy editor Annie Denning Hille and her mom Maggie, who works at the Tattered Cover in Denver.

Do you have any writing or publishing news to share? Feel free to share links in the comments!

Editor’s note: Due to technical issues, The Bookshelf Muse had to remove “Why I Love the Espresso Book Machine” from its site. I reposted the original article over on the Forest Avenue Press blog, so the link now directs readers there.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Books, Espresso Book Machine, Guest Post and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Visiting The Bookshelf Muse, My Radio Interview with Sheila Hamilton and More Good News!

  1. I’ve been following the links all morning (and thanks for posting mine too, Laura.) The interview at The Bookshelf Muse is especially enlightening. Now, I’d better go off and do my own writing before the day gets away from me!

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Whew, when are you finding any time to write?! This introvert is dreading the time she has to get out and market the books when they’re published. 😉

    • It’s so much easier for me to promote other authors than my own work, jm–and I’m so glad my press’ first book included 42 of them! And there hasn’t been any real novel writing since August, until this past week, when I finally started getting back to work. I’ve missed my characters.

      And as far as you promoting your work, enlist cheerleaders (like me, I’m volunteering already!) to do some of the promotion for you. And invest in postcards. Postcards can be passed out and left in pretty little stacks to do the promotion for you!

  3. Everyone is loving your Book Machine post! Lots of folks didn’t even know something like this existed!

Leave a Reply

