Book of the Year and Other News

Brave on the Page is on the Staff Pick shelves at the front of Powell's Hawthorne.

Brave on the Page is on the Staff Pick shelves at the front of Powell’s Hawthorne.

I’m new to being a small press publisher, with my first title just released in October, and I’ve already learned how much time marketing and setting up readings takes away from working with the words themselves.

Kristy Athens and I stood side by side at Holiday Cheer.

Kristy Athens and I stood side by side at Holiday Cheer.

I’ve also learned that it’s incredibly rewarding to see a group of readers show up at an event to support my authors. And that participating in a book fair isn’t as much about selling as it is about making connections with fellow writers and readers. I had some great conversations with people at the Holiday Cheer event at the Oregon Historical Society on Sunday, and I got to visit with some writers I want to interview for the Seven Questions Series. One of the best parts was being stationed next to Kristy Athens, author of Get Your Pitchfork On! 

It’s especially exciting, as a brand-new publisher, to see our first book earn recognition and accolades. It has been an amazing two months.

Yesterday, the Powell’s On Oregon Blog named Brave on the Page: Oregon Writers on Craft and the Creative Life its “Book of the Year.”

You can read the details, and my interview with blogger Matt Love, on the Powell’s Books blog. I had a candid conversation with him about why I chose to start a press, and I talked about how I’m going open Forest Avenue Press for submissions in January and February. Matt’s work as founder of Nestucca Spit Press has inspired me in my own publishing efforts, so this is an incredible honor.

I noticed, when reading the blog, that you can now buy Brave on the Page online through Powell’s. It’s a thrill to see it listed there alongside books I adore, for sale at the nation’s largest independent bookstore.

And speaking of Powell’s, the store on Hawthorne named Brave on the Page a staff pick. It was truly an amazing moment to see the cover facing out on the Staff Picks shelf and to read the little blurb recommending it.

Willamette Week ran a great blurb telling people about our Nov. 17 reading.

Willamette Week ran a great blurb telling people about our Nov. 17 reading.

Since the launch, we have had articles or press releases run in fifteen-plus newspapers in the Portland metro area.

And finally, because this book is all about offering inspiration to writers and celebrating writing community, one of our essay writers, Jackie Shannon Hollis, recently visited Christi Craig’s blog. Read Jackie’s beautiful piece, Writers as Witness. 

Thank you all for listening to Brave on the Page updates. If you want to learn more, see the Forest Avenue Press blog. I do expect to have a few more major announcements before the holidays!

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Books, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Book of the Year and Other News

  1. Liz says:

    whoooo, laura! you rock!

  2. annewoodman says:

    Good luck, Laura! It sounds like you’re having fun. ; )

    • Anne, I am having so much fun! I stood up at one of our readings and confessed to loving this part–not just doing the editing and publishing work but actually getting the word out. The results have been beyond what I could have possibly dreamed of.

  3. I am watching and learning! You’re amazing, Laura!

  4. Congratulations! That’s wonderful! Matt’s an inspiration to me too.

    • I imagine he inspires lots of Oregon writers! It was amazing to watch him at the Oregon Historical Society Holiday Cheer event. Many, many people came up to ask him what he had written recently, how he was doing and to pass on their compliments about one book or another.

  5. Emma says:

    This is amazing. Well done, Laura.

    • Thanks Emma! I’m especially excited to take all the good news and local goodwill from this project and pour it into publishing somebody’s novel and hopefully making their dream come true.

  6. I’m relatively new here but I LOVE all the great information you post here. Thank you.

  7. jmmcdowell says:

    Woo Hoo! It looks like a very Merry Christmas this year for you and your writing/editing/publishing (phew!) efforts! 🙂

  8. Yay! I’d say 2013 is going to be a great year for you, Laura. So fun to watch all this goodness unfold. Congrats!!

  9. 4amWriter says:

    Gosh, you have certainly been busy. Sounds like the hard work is a lot of fun. What a nice Christmas treat for you!

Leave a Reply

