Up to My Eyeballs

My old editor always used to say he was up to his eyeballs in work, especially on deadline, and that’s how I have been feeling the past few weeks. I have been reading queries and pages for my press, working on my own editing project and working through my first author’s manuscript poking at every comma and asking questions. Add to that some whopping family illnesses–we are now on week five, and between us we’ve had three bottles of eye drops, one bottle of ear drops, one bottle of nose spray and three antibiotic prescriptions.

Spring’s coming, yes?

In any case, I haven’t been fully present here due to these other priorities, but that’ll change sometime soon. And in the meantime, I want to recommend Author, Publisher, Entrepreneur, the book by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch. I’m reading it in between these other tasks, and going slow to digest each idea, so I’m not ready to officially review it. But I’ve found countless helpful hints.

One of the things I’ve learned from APE, as it’s affectionately known, is that you can rent InDesign from Adobe for $19.99 a month instead of buying it full-price. That’s much more affordable, and I’m now doing a free month trial to play around and learn the program before committing. I’m not sure if you have to agree to a full year’s worth of months or if I can rent it just in the months I need it; if you’re interested, I can let you know once I do start the rental period. APE suggests InDesign as the best way to turn your manuscript into an epub, which is what sparked my interest.

More soon. Or somewhat soon. When I’m not up to my eyeballs any more.

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Up to My Eyeballs

  1. Make that four antibiotic prescriptions…

  2. jmmcdowell says:

    Oh, no! I hope you all feel better soon. This winter seems to have been a tough one on the health front for so many people. Take care of yourselves—that should be your first priority!

  3. Sorry to hear its been a rough winter for you… Hang on, Spring is almost here. Feel better. xx

  4. 4amWriter says:

    I hear you about the illnesses. This was a tough winter for us, too. I just barely got over a sinus infection that had lasted 8 weeks!! Anyway, I hope you’re feeling better soon. Spring is on the way…but I won’t mention the allergies that come with it. 😉

    • You poor thing, Kate! Did you end up on antibiotics? I had one round but still have symptoms. I was thinking it was a new one but maybe it’s the same old thing.

      And ugh, allergy season.

Leave a Reply

