For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow

As a novelist, I never write short stories. But one somehow came together during my novel drafting, featuring my protagonist Henri. I read the piece out loud at an event, and as a result, I was encouraged to submit it to VoiceCatcher, a literary magazine here in the Portland metro area that features prose, poetry, art, and essays by women.

It was accepted and it went live today!

Read “For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow.”

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to For He’s a Jolly Good Fellow

  1. What a wonderful short story! You are truly gifted and I can’t wait to read your novel!

  2. Laura, how perfectly delightful πŸ™‚ You have a unique way of presenting characters that take the reader into another world. Please give us more !!

    • Thanks, Florence! This is great encouragement to get my novel more polished. I was celebrating the act of finishing, but now that I’m back to the beginning, I’m picking apart my weave of scene and narrative, and seeing how it’s all working (or not). I’ll keep plugging along!

  3. jmmcdowell says:

    Oh, what fun! Who knew what such a tiny organ could lead to? πŸ™‚ Isn’t it interesting how your novel has led you to some short stories while my shorts are now leading to a novel? Our Muses are such tricksters, I think!

    • Hee hee, jm! I had so much fun with this, can you tell? And yes–what a fun parallel about your shorts turning to novels and vice versa for me. I think I would have panicked at the idea of writing a short story, actually. Trickster muses indeed!

  4. janbaross says:

    So you are having a short story contest? Jan

  5. You are a woman of many talents, Laura. Great story! xx

Leave a Reply

