2014 Fellowship and Other Good News

Wow.

My press received a 2014 Oregon Literary Fellowship! You can see the full list of winners here, as well as the finalists for the Oregon Book Award, all just announced this morning. Thanks to Literary Arts for their recognition.

I found out about the award on Friday and started thinking about how many hours I’ve put in to this project, how much I’ve set aside in my fiction writing life and my personal life to put other people’s books out in the world and try to help readers find those books. And how I pay my contributors but can’t yet pay myself. And then I had a good long joyous sob.

It feels amazing to see my press get recognition for what we’re doing, and I’m so grateful to my authors, my artists, and my editors, who have all contributed to the formation of this small press in innumerable ways. I couldn’t have pulled off these books without them.

So how’s that for starting off 2014?

We also found out last week that Stevan Allred’s A Simplified Map of the Real World, was named a #1 book of the year by two Powell’s staff members in the annual Staff Top 5s. You can see the full list of books chosen by Powell’s staffers here.

How has your 2014 been so far? Any big wishes you have for the year? I feel like mine have already started coming true this first week!

About Laura Stanfill

Publisher, Forest Avenue Press
This entry was posted in Community, Fiction, small press, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 2014 Fellowship and Other Good News

  1. Congratulations, Laura. What an honor—and well deserved. Congrats to Stevan, too.

    • Oh thanks, Marcia! I’ve been floating all day and I can’t wait to see my graphic designer tomorrow–who is vitally important in creating my press’ visual identity–and give her a huge hug!

  2. Fantastic! What a bright spot in the indie publishing firmament. ⭐

    Congrats!

  3. Emma says:

    Congratulations, Laura. You deserve it.

  4. Congratulations to you, Laura–and everyone else at Forest Avenue Press. You inspire us all.

  5. That’s amazing Laura! Congratulations on a well-deserved award.

  6. jmmcdowell says:

    Congratulations on the fellowship and the success of “A Simplified Map….” ! I hope this is simply a hint of all the good things to come in 2014 and beyond.

  7. amandacurtin says:

    Congratulations, Laura!

  8. Carolyn King says:

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME LAURA!!!!!!!!!! So thrilled for you. Just ordered your latest! Huge congrats (and hugs).

  9. Martha Ragland says:

    Congratulations!!!

  10. Pingback: Book Review — A Simplified Map Of The Real World | jmmcdowell

Leave a Reply

